Cricket World Cup 2015 Pools Announced

International Cricket Council announced the team pools, venues and schedule for Cricket World Cup 2015 on Monday that will be played in February and March 2015 in two countries jointly Australia and New Zealand.

12 teams will take part in 2015 World cup divided into two groups A and B. Pakistan and India both are in Group B which means they will also face each other in a group match.

Here are the Pools:

First match of World Cup will be played on 14th February 2015 between New Zealand and Sri Lanka in Christchurch.  on same day England will face their historic rivals Australia in Melbourne.

Pakistan and India will face each other on 15th February that will be opening match of the World Cup for both the teams. this is the big match which everyone will love to watch.

Group matches will continue till 15th March. every team will play 5 group matches. after group stage four quarter finals will take place between 8 qualifying teams. from their 4 teams will reach Semi Finals and in the end two teams will play final on 29th March 2015 in Melbourne. It is the same ground where World Cup 1992 Final was played between Pakistan and England.

Australian pitches always helps fast bowlers so whichever team will be having quality fast bowlers will have edge in this World Cup. currently Pakistan and South Africa are having best fast bowers. Indians are defending Champions of World Cup as they won World Cup 2011. they will be strong candidates even in 2015. Indian batting is more strong than any other team. they also got some good spin bowlers like Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin.

First Cricket World Cup was played in 1975 which was won by West Indies. in 2015 it will be World Cup no. 11. Australia has won title of World Cup four times more than any other team. India and West Indies won this title twice each. Pakistan and Sri Lanka won it once each.

Some Important Matches of WC 2015 will  be following:

Saturday Feb 14 Pool A – Australia v England.

Sunday Feb 15 Pool B – India v Pakistan.

Sunday Feb 22 Pool B – India v South Africa.

Sunday Mar 1 Pool A – England v Sri Lanka.

Saturday Mar 7 Pool B – Pakistan v South Africa.

Sunday Mar 8 Pool A – Australia v Sri Lanka.
Next Post »